Get the Look: Nicki Minaj in “High School”

8 Apr

Get the Look!

I need to get back on track with the regular blogging, BUT for some reason I really enjoy doing these “Get the Looks.”

I think it’s because I’m a secret fashionphile and when I can watch a music video and recognize over half of the pieces worn (and know the designer and season they’re from), like, I want to put that talent to good use SOMEHOW. WHY NOT. I also like spending time scouring clothing sites for items to feature and rationalizing it by calling it “blogging.”

So, here’s my latest one: Nicki Minaj in her newly-released clip for “High School,” featuring Lil Wayne. (Watch below.)

And there’s no good transition to get into this, so I’ll just say it: This clip includes literally the most awkward implied sex scene ever. I say “implied” only because the pair made it QUITE CLEAR that there was no: kissing, unauthorized touching, cuddling, etc happening on set. So I guess it was a cool thing to do in the video, but it seems kind of pointless since they both went so out of their way to tell the media how outrageous it was to pretend to be flirting and romping around in bed together.  They really went the extra mile to make it look so awkwardly unnatural that no one would get the wrong idea. Which doesn’t make any sense at all.

Anyway, here we go. Hit play on the video above and find out how to dupe her style (featuring Herve Leger, Versace, Hermes, Alexander Wang, Agent Provocateur, etc etc etc – I DIE. WE DIE.) Notice the “Similar here”s, too, for cheaper alternatives to the designer duds. I also want to shout out to her GAWJUS natural makeup look in the clip…hoping she continues to look this flawless and doesn’t revert back into the dark, dark depths of Hello-Kitty-neon-glitter-wig-tutu time.

Get the Look!

  1. False eyelashes, Make Up For Ever, $16
  2. Leather bralette, T by Alexander Wang, $375 (Similar here)
  3. Bandage monokini, Herve Leger, $740 (Similar here)
  4. Patterned leggings, Alexander McQueen, $615 (Similar here)
  5. Diamond cut-out dress, Herve Leger, $1,550 (Similar here)
  6. Lace corset, Agent Provocateur, $990 (Similar here)
  7. Cuff bracelet, Hermes, $1,154 (Similar here)
  8. Studded sandals, Christian Louboutin, $3,995*
  9. Gold cuff jewelry: Necklace, Back Stage, $28; Bracelet, Forever 21, $6.80
  10. Nude pumps, JustFab, $35.95

*It was hard to find cheapo-versions of sandals like these. You get what you pay for, I suppose…Prada and Valentino both have similar styles this season that at least don’t cross the $1000 line.

P.S. If you’re super confused about what’s even happening in the video (like I was when I first watched it…five times in a row…), check out this wrap-up that I wrote for my other job. This is less of a shameless plug, and more of an I-don’t-want-to-rewrite-this-and-also-don’t-want-to-copy-it-and-plagiarize-and-get-fired. But still potentially helpful.

P.P.S. Shout out to all the dudes reading this wondering how you can snag Tunechi’s “High School” look – I got you covered. All you need is one of these bad boys below (image clicks through to where you can buy ;))

Bucket Hat with Drawstring

One Response to “Get the Look: Nicki Minaj in “High School””

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Play-By-Play of Miley Cyrus’ “We Can’t Stop” Video (SPOILER: It’s Aweful) | POP JUMPER - June 20, 2013

    […] 0:05 – Beats Pill product placement. Okay, Nicki Minaj. […]

Leave a Reply

